Admiral Alan William John West, Baron of Spithead GCB DSC, PC ,ADC
President: Captain Gareth Peaston Minutes Secretary: Alvin Hopper Padre: Rev. Dennis Mould Logistics Officer: Paul Cooper
The Merchant Navy Association Boat Club
Commodore – Clive Edwards Vice Commodore – Chris Woods Rear Commodore – John Sail Secretary – Tim Brant Webmaster – D Hearn Website -
Vice Chairman: Paul Cooper Treasurer: Les Board PR & Media: Lucy Compton Webmaster: David Hearn
Chairman: Captain Paul Compton Membership Secretary: David Hearn Welfare Officer: Christine Payne Events Officer: Tammy Newton
Weymouth Branch Officers
The Weymouth Branch of the Merchant Navy Association was formed on the 10th of May 2010. Meetings are held on the second Thursday of the month at The Royal Airforce Association (RAFA) Club, 40, Maiden Street, commencing at 19.45. New members are keenly welcomed but you need to join the national MNA as well as the local branch. Full MNA Membership. This is open to any person who has “signed-on” ships Articles plus MCA seagoing employees, lifeboat men, lighter men and fishermen. Application Forms are available from the MNA’s Membership Secretary or may be downloaded HERE. Successful applicants will be advised of their nearest branch. Any member who, for any reason, is unable to join a branch will be registered as a member of the National Branch or an Overseas Area Branch. No member may be a member of more than one branch of the MNA although all members are welcome in any branch and are encouraged to take part in both social and more formal branch events. This is where they can join others with similar experiences of a unique way of life to “swing the lamp”. Associate MNA Membership. This is available to any other person who supports the MNA’s objectives. Seafarer’s families and friends are encouraged to support us by joining as well as business contacts and members of other maritime organisations. Weymouth Branch Membership Application Forms can be downloaded HERE. Honorary Membership. This is generally bestowed by the National or Branch Executive Committee on a prominent local person who has made a significant contribution for seafarers in their area. Subscriptions. The amount of the National Subscription fee is set by the members and may only be changed by approval of the members at an AGM. A “one-off” registration fee, to help with the costs associated with new membership, will also be required. Joining fees are due when a membership application is approved. Annual subscription fees are due on the 1st January but a member joining after the 31st July, in any year, is only required to pay half the full rate of the national subscription fee. The payment of your first subscription fee will be acknowledged by the issue of a membership card and sent within 21 days of receipt of that payment. Any member failing to pay their fees on time will be ineligible to receive any national mailings, which includes their copy of Full Ahead. We look forward to welcoming you aboard. Great progress has been achieved through building a national consensus that speaks on behalf of merchant seafarers. Your support helps to maintain the momentum towards even more awareness of the needs of merchant seafarers, their families and dependants. Methods of Payment. You have a choice of options with a bank Direct Debit preferred to a cheque or postal order or via PayPal.. The Direct Debit form is also available for download on our two websites. Please complete and forward all your details for your MNA National Membership. Membership Forms are available, in a choice of formats, for you to download, but if you have any concerns please phone our National Membership Secretary: Roy Glencross, Membership Secretary, 3 The Maples, Old Main Road, Fleet Hargate, Spalding, PE12 8NT Tel: 01406 425527 Email:
Please address all enquiries to Captain Paul Compton Email:
President Vivien Foster Exeter Branch    Vice President Michael Wootton Tamworth Branch    Vice President Rev. P Auden DL Bristol Branch Vice President Donald Hunter Kent Branch
Executive Chairman & CEO: John Sail MNM MNI Boston Branch
Executive Vice Chairman: Malcolm Mathison MNI FEI Immingham Branch
Executive Secretary: David Parsons National
Member John Turner Midlands Branch
Member Philip Rogers Blackpool Branch
Member Arthur Murphy Dumfries Branch
Member Alan Speight Newport Branch
Member Michael Wootton Tamworth Branch
Member - Webmaster Terry Hughes FRIN FNI National
Events & Welfare Officer: Tim Brant MNM FEI Immingham Branch
Member Hugh Harding Bristol Branch
Member Gareth Peaston Weymouth & Portland Branch
Executive Membership Secretary: Roy Glencross Boston Branch
Acting Executive Treasurer: Tim Brant
Member Clive Edwards MNABC
Member - Slop Chest Sandra Broom National
MNA Who’s Who
President and and Vice Presidents
National Councillors
Founder Members of Weymouth, Portland & District Branch of the MNA
John Bowditch
Paul Compton
Peter Tamblin
Rev Dennis Mould (Padre)
Derek Williams & Dundee
Gareth Peaston
Tony Cash
Paul Cooper